Gender body pleased with women performance in 2017 polls  

The National Gender and Equality Commission has said that the increase in number of women aspirants who won elective posts in the just concluded general elections was a great indicator on the trust Kenyans have on women leaders.

In the just concluded elections, women aspirants won 3 governors, 3 senators, 23 Members of Parliament and 96 Members of County Assembly posts. It is the first time in Kenyan history that Women governors and Senators have prevailed through a competitive electoral process.

In a statement, the organization’s chairperson winfred O. Lichuma expressed confidence that the pioneer women county leaders will perform exceptionally well and transform their respective counties.

Lichuma also noted that areas which hitherto was much affected by gender stereotypes had shown signs of change.

“We note that the North Eastern and Samburu regions have produced for the first time a female Senator in Isiolo County and two MPs in Ijara and Samburu West Constituencies. In all regions, the women candidates were pitted against their male colleagues but prevailed with an overwhelming mandate.”

The commission further noted that younger leaders were increasingly taking up leadership positions and challenging their older, more experienced and resources advantaged candidates.

“The story of Igembe South MP elect Mr. John Mwirigi is a shining beacon of hope and inspiration to young people to believe in themselves and offer their leadership skills.”

In Kilibwoni Ward Nandi County, 24 year old Cynthia Jepkosgey Muge beat all odds to win proofing that age and lack of resources was not an hindrance to leadership.

The commission however noted that the constitutionally required two thirds gender ratio composition will not be met according to the current results and hence parties will have to nominate women to achieve the threshold.

“We shall continue to monitor the integration and application of the principles of equality and inclusion throughout the remaining part of the electioneering process up to its logical conclusion.”