EAC-EU Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) Status

Trade Cabinet Secretary Adan Mohamed is leading a Kenyan delegation to Brussels, Belgium, to join fellow EAC Ministers of Trade in a session with the EU Presidency tomorrow to further deliberate on the signing of the EPA by partner states that have not yet signed the deal in a meeting that is regionally led by EAC Chairman President Museveni of Uganda.


The EAC Summit of 20th May 2017 mandated the Chair of the Summit (President Museveni) to engage with the EU to address concerns that some partner states have on the EAC signing the EPA as block. This engagement will pave way for a regional approach to signing and implementation of the EPA.


“Kenya and Rwanda signed the EPA in August 2015 with Kenya ratifying the same in September last year. The move by Kenya, was aimed at securing Kenya’s duty free quota free market access in the EU, as Kenya along with other EAC Partner States seek a solution for all EAC Partner States to sign the EPA”, said CS Adan Mohamed.


The search for this solution has been pursued under two successive Summits of the EAC Heads of States on 9th September 2016 and 20th May 2017 culminating in this effort to meet with EU.