US Revamps Travel Warning System, Ranks Countries 

The United States unveiled a way to warn its citizens about the dangers of foreign travel on Wednesday (Jan 10), with a four-point safety ranking system for countries and an interactive world map.

Ten war zones and failed states are ranked Level Four, “Do Not Travel”: Afghanistan, Central African Republic, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, Somalia, South Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

North Korea is also Level Four, with the additional restriction that US law prohibits American travellers from using their passports there, effectively banning visits.

But some of the other country ratings may raise eyebrows – or international anger – even if the State Department says it is only presenting existing advice in a new format. Straits Times