Swearing in of Land Commission members suspended

The Labor Court has suspended the swearing of members of the National land Commission (NLC) a few hours after President Uhuru Kenyatta approved names of persons who were approved by parliament.

Activist Okiya Omtata on Thursday went to cot seeking to stop the swearing in of the eight-member committee headed by Gerishom Otachi arguing that the procedure of selecting them was unconstitutional.

Justice Stephen Radido ruled that the swearing-in ceremony be suspended until the case was heard.

Among the members approved by parliament are Gerishom Otachi, Esther Murugi, Kazungu Kambi, Prof. James Tuitoek, Getrude Nguku, Reginald Okumu, Hubbie Hussein Al-haji, Murimi Mutugi and Tiyah Galgalo.