20 more counties to miss treasury funding

The Council of Governors (COG) has said it will not agree with plans by the treasury to withhold funds for at least 20 more counties which it says have not cleared their pending bills.

Chairperson Wycliffe Oparanya argued that the move is against the spirit of the constitution and will curtail effective delivery of service to citizens.

“Withholding development funds by the National Treasury creates a crisis in service delivery by the County Governments as development is pegged on available resources,” he said.

He noted that county Governments have progressively made deliberate efforts to settle pending bills which includes those inherited from the local authorities.

“The method used by the National Treasury to categorize County Governments did not take into account the issue of historical debts.”

The fresh notice comes barely a week after both the National Assembly and Senate rejected another request by acting National Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yatani to an initial 15 counties giving them until December 1 to clear the bills, failure which funds would be locked.

The Houses of Parliament recommended that a better strategy should be drawn up because the National Treasury cannot stop the whole budgetary allocation to the counties.