Adan Duale retains seat as majority leader in National Assembly

Garissa Town MP Adan Duale has retained his post as the National Assembly Majority leader following a Jubilee party Parliamentary Group meeting held at State House Nairobi on Tuesday.

In the meeting which was chaired by Jubilee Party leader president Uhuru Kenyatta and attended by his Deputy William Ruto, Mumias East MP Benjamin Washiali was removed as Majority Chief Whip and his position taken by Navakholo MP Emmanuel Wangwe.

Also, Deputy Majority Whip, Nominated MP Cecily Mbarire, lost her seat to Igembe North’s Maoka Maore.
Kipipiri MP Amos Kimunya was elected to serve as the Secretary of the Jubilee Coalition Joint Parliamentary Group according to a statement from Statehouse.

“Today’s Parliamentary Group meeting endorsed Hon Justin B Muturi to continue serving as the Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon Moses Cheboi to continue serving as the Deputy Speaker, Hon Adan Duale to continue serving as the Majority Leader in the National Assembly, and Hon Jimmy Angwenyi to continue serving as the Deputy Majority Leader,” read the statement in part.