Onkar Rai wins season opening KCB Nakuru Rally 2019

Home driver Onkar Rai rallied from a minute deficit in the first loop to register an emphatic hat trick on the season opening KCB Nakuru Rally 2019.
His last gasp drive saw the Kabras Sugar Racing ace driver eclipse defending champion Champion Carl “Flash” Tundo by a mere four seconds in a day full of drama, dust and speed.
Carl led the rally up till the penultimate stage but candidly admired that Onkar’s Skoda was too fast.
Speaking through the prize giving ceremony, The KCB Regional Business Manager Great Rift  Ms. Victoria Kamuren  congratulated the nine drivers who made it to finish this first round of the Championship series.
 ” We as a bank are proud to have been a host to this outstanding outing. This rally has indeed set the pace for this year’s KCB Rally championship series,” Said Ms. Kamuren.
“I think this is the fastest car have ever faced in the KNRC ” Tundo said.
The twisty nature of the stage appeared to favour Onkar’s Skoda Fabia R5 against Tundo’s and Chager’s Evolution Mitsubishis.
Onkar won four out of 8 stages to rack up his third career KNRC victory while Tundo took four to settle for second.
Onkar said:”The first stage we made many mistakes, there was dust and we spun three times. The first loop mistakes had done enough damage to our timings so we were left with no option but to attack. Hands down to Tundo, he drive really well consisting Skoda’s are much more superior.”
From the word go, it was a three horse race pitting Charger, Tundo and Onkar with old boy Duncan also giving a good account of themselves on his Nissan Pickup.
Duncan set the third fastest time on the opening Mogotio stage prior to his exit in the fifth stage.
Casualties of the day, all with mechanical failure, were Minesh Rathod, Issa Amwari,  Edward Maina, Daren Miranda. Rajay Sejmi, Duncan, Paras Pandya of Mombasa and Eric Bengi on his very first outing with the ex Fazzy Khan Evolution X.Duncan,
Onkar Rai savored his third successive victory. His calm and assured march to the podium belied the excitement that was bubbling underneath and it exploded in a solid stream of joy at the prize giving  ceremony.
Provisional classification
1. OnkarvRai/Gavin Laurence (Skoda) 1:50.10
2. Carl Tundo/Tim Jessop (EVOX) 1:50.14
3. Baldev Chager /Ravi Soni (EVOX) 1:50.52
4. Tejveer Rai/Z. Shah (EVOX) 2:02.20
5. Mahesh Halai/Ketan Halai (Subaru) 2:06.38